Surviving Girls’ Night

Generally every Thursday night my betches (this is a term of endearment) and I get together for wine or other drinks and some delicious snack foods.   Most often, I’ll knock back a bottle of red wine while we gossip and work on a project (sometimes the only project is more gossip). I used to smoke about 6-12 cigarettes over the course of an average girls night.  No more smokes, no more red wine (until well after surgery).

Last night we helped H with some teacher appreciation paper pinwheels for an upcoming PTA function.  Sometimes we have a project to work on, other times we don’t. The last project I helped work on involved drinking lots of wine and using a Dremmel.  😀

My mom was also here last night, so that was awesome… After I stopped wanting to pinch her head off. Lol.  She sees no need for Xanax (weak!!!) or vapor inhalers (lame!!!). That’s her business. Mine is getting through the best I can. 😛

It wasn’t the easiest thing, too socialize and drink without smoking…..but with the help of the 0mg (or, as I originally read it, OMG) nicotine water vapor inhaler, I survived. It really helps to fake smoke. 🙂 

It’s been 3 days, 6 hours, and 44 minutes. According to my app, I’ve NOT smoked 65 cigarettes, and added 715 minutes to my life. That’s only about 12 hours, but still….I’m take them! (As long as they’ll never be like the first 12 hours without cigarettes.  Sweet baby Jesus, I never want to go through that again.) I may not pick up smoking again after I heal from surgery, simply because the last three days have been like the seventh circle of hell.

Quite by accident, I found a pack of smokes in my DH’s workshop area in the garage last night. I am freaking proud to say that I opened the box, smelled them and put them back. 

(I’m less proud to admit I whiffed the hell out of my eldest son’s friend’s hoodie, as it smelled like smoke… I never knew that kid smoked! Guess my sense of smell is getting sharper already). 

I’ll be damned if in going to have even one now. The nicotine is officially out of my body entirely. Eff that. No way I’m going back.

I feel less frantic and edgy than usual this morning. The worst of the addiction is behind me.  In eleven days, I’ll be prepped and ready to undergo the operation. Wow. Eleven.

Tonight I get to see my eldest graduate high school. (tomorrow night we celebrate)  Today is workout, clean the house, get supplies and I have a Skype consult today at 12:30 with my plastic surgeon. Busy day.

Standard

Leave a Reply

